Legal sale and use of fireworks
Fireworks may be sold in unincorporated Clark County during these times:
June 28 from noon to 11:00 p.m., June 29 through July 4 from 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Independence Day 2014 Fireworks Legal Discharge Times for cities in Clark County (PDF)
Fireworks sales and discharge at any other time is prohibited without a permit.
It is often difficult to determine which fireworks are legal and which ones are not. If you are going to purchase fireworks, your best bet is to buy them locally from a local dealer that has been inspected and approved by the Clark County Fire Marshal. It is illegal to obtain fireworks by mail order or public transporter.
It is illegal to possess or discharge:
- Bottle rockets
- Homemade devices
Many fireworks prohibited in Washington and Clark County - some of them extremely dangerous - are available in other states and on certain reservations. Although you can purchase Clark County and Washington State "legal" fireworks at these locations you can also purchase fireworks that are illegal to possess or discharge off of the reservation or out of the state.
Washington allows some fireworks that are prohibited in Oregon. It is also illegal to purchase Oregon illegal fireworks in Washington and transport them back to Oregon.
Fines and/or jail time
Fines for illegal possession and use of fireworks can be very steep - up to $1,000 and/or 90 days in jail. Possession of illegal devices is a felony and may also violate state and federal explosive statutes.