DOMESTIC VIOLENCE PROTECTION ORDER

A petition can be filed by a person who is a victim of domestic violence or fears violence by a family or household member.  This includes:

  • Persons who are or were married
  • Persons who are or were domestic partners
  • Persons who have a child in common
  • Adults who do or did reside together
  • Persons 16 years or older who have or had a dating relationship
  • Adults who are related by blood or marriage
  • Persons with a biological or legal parent-child relationship, including step-parents and step-children, and grandparents and grandchildren

The Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS) may petition on behalf and with the consent of a vulnerable adult.

“Domestic Violence” means:

  • Physical harm, bodily injury
  • Assault
  • The infliction of fear or imminent physical harm
  • Sexual assault
  • Stalking

See the Washington State Legislature Statute here: RCW Chapter 26.50, Domestic Violence

Additional Resources and Links

Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-562-6025

  • Provides 24 hour, toll-free information about shelter and alternatives to domestic violence.

Washington Law Help

  • Self-help resources about domestic violence issues in Washington State