

## **CLARK COUNTY WASHINGTON**

www.clark.wa.gov

HUMAN RESOURCES

1300 Franklin Street PO Box 5000 Vancouver, WA 98666-5000 564.397.2456 / f 564.397.2457 hradmin@clark.wa.gov

## Minutes: CLARK COUNTY CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION MEETING

IN ATTENDANCE

Commissioner Cry Commissioner Lea Commissioner Gaf Commissioner Ric Senior Deputy Pro	<ul> <li>Commissioner Marla Ludolph-Heikkala (Chair)</li> <li>Commissioner Crystal Kroeller (Vice Chair)</li> <li>Commissioner Leah Anaya</li> <li>Commissioner Garry Presthus (sent proxy vote)</li> <li>Commissioner Rick Torres</li> <li>Senior Deputy Prosecuting Attorney Christine Cook (Counsel to the commission)</li> <li>Secretary/Chief Examiner Leslie Harrington Smith</li> </ul>							
MEETING DATE: MEETING TIME:	Thursday May 19, 2022 3:00 P.M.	REGULAR MEETING 🛛						
LOCATION:	In adherence to public health recommendations, using conference calling or Microsoft Teams. CONF RM. 511 CONF RM. 523 CCSO ADMIN CLASSROOM CONFERENCE MICROSOFT TEAMS MEETING LINK: CLICK H (Phone Number +1 213-262-7043 Phone Cor	CONF RM. 433						

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION:**

Commission did not have anything to discuss related to personnel issues under RCW 42.30.110(1)(g) including background investigations and removals.

## **REGULAR SESSION:**

- 1. Commissioners reviewed and certified the following background investigations:
  - Aviles, Monica Sheriff's Support Specialist II
  - Dawkins, Sean Deputy Sheriff/Corrections Deputy
  - Flowers, Jeri Food Services Coordinator
- 2. Commissioners reviewed and confirmed the following background investigations to be removed:

$\sim$	Davie	Greylynd	Don	uty Shor	iff
$\sim$	Davis,	Greyiyilu	- Deb	uty Sher	

- Maughan, Jing Sheriff's Support Specialist II
  - Music, Amar Corrections Deputy
- 🛛 Yocum, Isaac Deputy Sheriff

- 3. Commissioners reviewed and certified the following eligibility lists for 12 months or until exhausted:
  - Deputy Sheriff R000019 May 2022

Lateral Deputy Sheriff R000067 April 2022

Sheriff's Support Specialist Supervisor R001845 May 2022

4. Commission reviewed and approved the following meeting minutes:

April 28, 2022 Regular Meeting Minutes

- 5. Other business to come before the Commission:
  - a. Vacancies Commissioners briefly discussed the following table.

			Backgrounds				
					Rule of		
					5 or Post		
Row Labels	Count	Status	Entered	Started	offer	Certification	Incomplete
Cadet	5		1	1		N/A	
		no PST scores since					
Corrections Deputy	23	4/21/22	0	0	2	0	0
Corrections Sergeant	1	List					
Deputy Sheriff	14		6	9	8	1	5
Human Resources Rep, Assoc	1	hire decision made					
Program Coordinator I	1	N/A					
Program Manager II	1	status unknown					
Sergeant	2	List					
Sheriff's Health and Safety Coord	1	status unknown					
Sheriff's Support Spec III	11		1	4	1	1	1
Sheriff's Support Spec Supervisor	1	List					
Grand Total	61						

b. Corrections Deputy Hiring/Referral Bonuses (Parameters) – Secretary Harrington Smith shared the following information with the Commissioners. These bonuses are currently available for Corrections Deputy candidates and current employees (referral bonus) The bonuses bring the Sheriff's Office Corrections

<u>Signing Bonus – Lateral</u> \$25,000 \$8,000 on the first paycheck \$8,500 on paycheck immediately following successful completion of probation \$8,500 on paycheck immediately following their three-year employment anniversary

<u>Signing Bonus – New/Entry Level</u> \$10,000 \$2,000 on first paycheck \$8,000 on paycheck immediately following successful completion of CJTC academy, FTO process and probation Employee Referral Bonus \$2,000 \$1,000 on the first paycheck when a candidate is hired as a SO Corrections Deputy or Enforcement Deputy \$1,000 on the first paycheck after a candidate completes probation Other conditions: Must be currently employed by Clark County Candidates must list referring employee at the time of application

Candidates must not violate nepotism policies

Next regular meeting is scheduled for Thursday June 16, 2022, at 3PM

Commissioners may confirm attendance:

Commissioner Marla Ludolph-Heikkala Commissioner Crystal Kroeller Commissioner Leah Anaya Commissioner Garry Presthus Commissioner Rick Torres

Date: June 16, 2022

<u>Approved via Microsoft Team Meeting online</u> Marla Ludolph-Heikkala, Chairperson

<u>Approved via Microsoft Team Meeting online</u> Crystal Kroeller, Vice Chair, Civil Service Commissioner

Leah Anaya, Civil Service Commissioner

Garry Presthus, Civil Service Commissioner

Approved via Microsoft Team Meeting online Rick Torres, Civil Service Commissioner

Leli Hangt Litt

Leslie Harrington Smith, Secretary/Chief Examiner