
How to Ask for a Divorce 
There are NO dependent children of this marriage 
The parties are NOT signing the papers together 

The parties are NOT in agreement 
Service of the other party is REQUIRED 

 

Forms may be downloaded for free at www.courts.wa.gov/forms or 
you may purchase them at the Clerk’s Office 

Step 1: Fill out these forms 
Completed Form Name Form # Notes 

 Case Information Coversheet Facilitator or clerk  will provide             
 Confidential Information  FL All Family 001  
 Vital Statistics Form Facilitator or clerk will provide  
 
Step 2: Fill out these forms and make copies 
Completed Form Name Form # Notes 
 Summons: Notice About a Marriage or 

Domestic Partnership 
FL Divorce 
200 

 

 Petition for Divorce FL Divorce 
201 

 

*If you need temporary orders, please refer to HOW TO ASK FOR TEMPORARY ORDERS 

 
Step 3: Copies needed 
Original set to file with the Clerk 
1 copy for your records 
1 copy to give to the other party 

 
Step 4: File your original forms with the Clerk’s Office and pay 
the filing fee 
If you cannot afford to pay the fee: 
Fill out these forms 
Completed Form Name Form # Notes 
 Motion and Declaration for Waiver of Civil Fees and 

Surcharges 
WPF GR 
34.0100 

 

1 
 

http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms


 Financial Statement WPF GR 
34.0300 

 

 Order re Waiver of Civil Fees and Surcharges WPF GR 
34.0500 

 

The forms are also available for download at www.courts.wa.gov/forms. 
 
Turn in the Motion, financial statement and order, along with all of your completed paperwork 
to the Clerk’s Office prior to 11:00 am, your case will be heard at 1:00 pm (same day) and you 
must be present. 
Payment can be made in the form of cash, cashier’s check, money order, debit/credit card.  NO 
PERSONAL CHECKS. 

 
Step 5: Serve the other party 
The other party must be served a copy of the Summons and Petition.  YOU CANNOT SERVE THE 
OTHER PARTY.  Someone else over the age of 18 must serve.  
The person who serves your spouse must complete, sign and give back to you this form: 
Completed Form Name Form # Notes 
 Proof of Personal 

Service 
FL All Family 
101 

 

Make a copy for yourself. 

 
Step 6: After the other party has been served 
File the ORIGINAL Proof of Personal Service form with the Clerk.  Put the Date stamp on your 
copy. 

 
Step 7: Follow your case 
Wait to see if the other party files a response.  Response deadlines are: 
20 days If the other party was served in person in Washington State. 
60 days If the other party was served in person outside of Washington State, or by 

publication. 
90 days If the other party was served by mail. 

 
Step 8a:  If No Response is filed: 
See instructions for Finalizing a Dissolution by Default.   

 
Step 8b:  If a Response is filed 
The other party AGREES with your Petition, set a court date by filling out this form: 
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Completed Form Name Form# 
 Notice of Hearing FL All Family 185 

 
Step 8c:  If a Response is filed 
The other party is NOT in agreement, FILL OUT THESE FORMS: 
Completed Form Name Form # Notes 
 Notice to Set 

for Trial – 
Family Law 

http://www.clark.wa.gov/courts/documents.html This will set a 
mandatory settlement 
conference  

 Pretrial 
Settlement 
Conference 
Affidavit 

http://www.clark.wa.gov/courts/documents.html 
Fill out this form completely and file the Original.  
Keep one for yourself, give one to the other party 
and provide one to the Judicial officer presiding at 
your settlement conference at least one week in 
advance. 

 

 
 
If you settle the case at settlement conference, you will need to set a hearing to enter the final 
paperwork.  You can set the hearing by filling out this form:   
Completed Form Name FORM # 
 Notice of Hearing FL All Family 185 
 
 
If you do not settle the case at settlement conference, you will be contacted with a trial date.  
At the conclusion of the trial, the court will set a time for entry of the final paperwork. 
 

 
Step 9:  Fill out these forms and take to your final hearing 
Completed Form Name Form # Notes 

 Findings 
and 
Conclusions 
About a 
Marriage 

FL Divorce 231  

 Final 
Divorce 
Order 

FL Divorce 241  

 Certification http://www.clark.wa.gov/courts/documents.html  
 
Step 10: Go to court hearing to finalize your Divorce 
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These instructions are legal information, not legal advice. All of the above mentioned forms can 
be found on the Washington State Court website: www.courts.wa.gov/forms. 
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