
How to Respond to a Divorce 
You were served with divorce papers 

You DO agree with the items in the Petition 
There ARE children of the marriage 

 

Step 1: Determine your response deadline 
20 days if you were served in person in the State of Washington 
60 days if you were served outside the State of Washington 
90 days if you were served by mail 
 

Forms may be downloaded for free at www.courts.wa.gov/forms or 
you may purchase them at the Clerk’s Office 

Step 2:  Fill out this form 
Completed Form Name Form # Notes 
 Agreement to Join 

Petition* 
FL All Family 
119 

Indicate whether you do or do not want 
notice of the final hearing 

*You should not be signing a joinder waiving notice UNLESS a proposed parenting plan and 
proposed child support worksheets have been filed and you agree with them.  The court will 
not finalize after the 90 days has run unless it is convinced both parties are in agreement 
regarding these documents. 

 
Step 3: Copies Needed 
Original is to be filed with the Clerk 
1 copy for your records 
1 copy to give to the other party 

 
Step 4: Take your original form to the Clerk’s Office to file 
 
Step 5: Provide copies to other party 
You may do so by personal service or mail. 
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http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms


This means that they receive a copy of what you have filed.  It does not require them to be 
personally served by a process server.  It can be done by mail at least 10 days before the court 
date or in person at least 7 days before the court date. 
 
Fill out this form: 
Completed Form Name Form # Notes 
 Proof of Mailing for Hand Delivery FL All Family 112  
File Original with the Clerk and make a copy for your records 
 

 
Step 6: Finalize 
IF a joinder was signed waiving notice, you do not need to do anything else. 
 
IF you signed a Joinder WANTING notice but do not want to attend the court hearing: EITHER 
sign the Citation for the court date OR sign off on the Decree of Dissolution, Findings of Fact 
and Conclusions of Law, Final Parenting Plan, Final Order of Child Support and Child Support 
Worksheet.  You may also attend the finalization hearing and sign at that time. 
 
 
 
 
These instructions are legal information, not legal advice. 
The about mentioned form can be found on the Washington State Court website. 
www.courts.wa.gov/forms. 
 

2 
 

http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms

