
Response to an Objection of Moving 
You are the primary residential parent  

You have given notice of your intended move with the children  
The other party files an Objection about Moving 

 

Forms may be downloaded for free at www.courts.wa.gov/forms or 
you may purchase them at the Clerk’s Office 

 

Step 1: You have a deadline for your response 
30 days if you were personally served in Washington 
60 days if you were personally served outside the State of Washington 
If you do not respond in time, the court may enter an Order of Default against you and the 
other party may obtain everything they are requesting in the Petition. 
 

Step 2:  Fill out this form 
Completed Form Name Form # Notes 
 Response to Objection about Moving with 

Children and Petition about Changing a 
Parenting/Custody Order 

FL 
Relocate 
722 

Provide as many 
details as 
possible 

 

Step 3: Copies needed 
Original to be filed with the clerk’s office 
1 copy for your records 
1copy to serve the other party 
1 copy for your assigned Judge 
 

Step 4: File original with the Clerk’s Office 
 
Step 5: Give the other party notice 
This means that they receive a copy of what you have filed.  It does not require them to be 
personally served by a process server.  It can be done by mail at least 10 days before the court 
date or in person at least 7 days before the court date. 
Fill out this form: 

1 
 

http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms


Completed Form Name Form # Notes 
 Proof of Personal Service FL All Family 101  
 

Step 6:  File Proof of Personal Service with the Clerk’s Office 
Keep a copy for your records 

 
Step 7:  Deliver the Judges copy  
Copies for Judge Rulli are to be delivered to Court Administration in the Main Courthouse, 
Judge Fairgrieve and Judge Clark take copies to the Family Law Annex.  Deliver no less than 3 
days before the hearing. (Tuesday if your hearing is on Friday) 
 

Step 8: Attend the hearing that has been set 
This may have been hearing you set when you filed the Notice, or one set by the other party 
when they filed their Objection.  Take all of your paperwork with you to the hearing. 
 
 
 
 
These instructions are legal information, not legal advice. 
All of the above mentioned forms can be found on the Washington State Court website: 
www.courts.wa.gov/forms. 
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