

## CLARK COUNTY WASHINGTON

**CLARK COUNTY COUNCIL** Sue Marshall, Chair Glen Yung, Michelle Belkot, Wil Fuentes, Matt Little

## clark.wa.gov

1300 Franklin Street PO Box 5000 Vancouver, WA 98666-5000 564.397.2232

January 15, 2024

Adam Larson, TTPSF Program Manager Office of Tribal Transportation Office of Federal Lands Highway Federal Highway Administration Vancouver, WA 98661

RE: Support for the Cowlitz Indian Tribe's Cowlitz Way & NW 41<sup>st</sup> Ave Roadway Departure upgrades.

On behalf of the Clark County Council, I am pleased to support the Cowlitz Indian Tribe's application for Systemic Roadway Departure Countermeasures of Cowlitz Way & NW 41<sup>st</sup> Ave in Ridgefield Washington.

Clark County is partnering with The Cowlitz Indian Tribe because both governments have similar long-term visions of protecting the residential communities surrounding the Cowlitz Indian Tribe Reservation.

The Cowlitz Indian Tribe Reservation and Clark County are experiencing significant economic growth, resulting in increased pedestrian and vehicular traffic. These funds will provide the Cowlitz Indian Tribe and Clark County the opportunity to implement safety improvements to Tribal and County roads.

The existing roadway, is a rural county road serving residential and agricultural land uses only, is designed as a rural two-lane road with minimal opportunities for non-motorized travel. Specifically, this planning project would investigate turn-key transportation infrastructure improvements geared and designed to improve the safety of this corridor for the long-term programed buildout of this critical area on the reservation.

Clark County has partnered with The Cowlitz Indian Tribe for this grant application as we see a strong community benefit from this project.

Thank you for your consideration of the numerous benefits that the Cowlitz Tribe's project will provide, not only for its tribal members, but for the nearby rural residents and visitors to our community as well.

Sincerely,

Sue Marshall, County Council Chair, District 5