** Due to COVID 19, the Facilitators Office  is temporarily closed until further notice.
See below for information to assist you with your matter. **


Clark County Courthouse - 1st Floor

1200 Franklin Street
Vancouver, WA 98660
Phone: (564) 397-2292, Option #2 (information only)

Walk-In Hours:

Mon-Fri: 8:00 am - 12:00 noon 
              1:00 pm -   4:30 pm
(Daily closure from noon - 1:00 pm)

The Family Court Facilitator program provides assistance to citizens who cannot afford an attorney or choose to represent themselves in matters dealing with:

Dissolution (Divorce) Legal Separation Custody Issues
Child Support Modifications Parenting Plan Modifications Restraining Orders
Contempt of Court Temporary Orders Relocations
Establishing a Parenting Plan 3rd Party/Non-Parental Custody  

Self-Help Form Packets

Self-help form packets are available for purchase at the Clerk’s Office on the first floor from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, except legal holidays.  Form packet prices are outlined below. The Clerk's Office accepts cash, money orders, cashier's checks, and debit and credit cards. Personal checks are not accepted.

Forms can also be downloaded from the Washington Courts website, but parties are strongly encouraged to purchase self-help packets to ensure that they get the proper forms along with the instructions they may need.

          Form packet costs:


  • Dissolution/Legal Separation with children - $50.00
  • Dissolution/Legal Separation no children - $30.00
  • Modification of child support - $30.00
  • Modification of Parenting Plan - $30.00
  • Modification/Termination of Non-Parent Custody $20.00
  • Relocation - $30.00
  • Paternity - $50.00
  • Non-Parental custody - $50.00
  • Writ of Habeas Corpus re: custody - $15.00

The facilitator is available for in-person assistance only, no telephone calls , e-mails or mail are accepted.  Scheduled appointments are not available at this time.  The facilitator services are neutral, they CANNOT provide referrals, the services are NOT confidential, and they are NOT responsible for the outcome of your case.

Facilitator fee notice:

The fee to meet with the facilitator is $20.00 for a 20-minute visit.  The cashier accepts cash, cashier's checks, money orders, or debit/credit cards (with a fee).  Personal checks ARE NOT accepted. Pay the fee at the Clerk's Office and hold your receipt. Take a number in the facilitator's office and wait in the lobby for your number to be displayed.

How facilitators can assist:
  • Provide information on how to start certain family law actions
  • Provide information on necessary forms
  • Provide information on court rules, procedures, and case schedules
  • Provide written instructions for many family law actions
  • Review forms you have filled out prior to your visit to make sure they are complete
  • Provide information on other court and community resources
  • Explain local procedures for setting motions and other hearings on the court calendars
What facilitators CANNOT do:
  • Provide legal advice or assist in trial preparation
  • Fill out your papers for you or tell you how to fill them out
  • Assist people who are represented by attorneys
  • Assist people who are uncertain what kind of legal action they need
  • Assist people with adoptions, landlord/tenant, bankruptcy, criminal charges, juvenile dependency, name changes, traffic citations, estate and probate matters
Other Form availability:
  • Washington State Courts - (free download)
  • Clark County Forms
  • Northwest Justice Project - (free download)
  • Clark County Law Library (1st floor of Courthouse)
  • Fort Vancouver Regional Library (901 C St., Vancouver, WA)
 Helpful resources and links: