Birth and Death Certificates

Open hours

8 am to 4 pm Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday
9 am to 4 pm Wednesday

Appointments recommended noon to 4 pm.

By phone
8:30 am – 4 pm Monday – Friday

Clark County Public Health, Vital Records
1601 E. Fourth Plain Blvd., Bldg. 17, 4th Floor, Suite 419 
phone: 564.397.8092
email: CCVR@clark.wa.gov

New vital records law

As of January 1, 2021, only individuals with specific relationships to the person on the record being requested can lawfully receive a birth and death record. Qualifying relationships include spouse/domestic partner, child, sibling, parent, grandparent and legal representative, among others (See a complete list in the Q & A section below). Identity and proof of relationship documentation must accompany all applications. 

As per RCW70.58A orders placed by applicants who do not qualify for the record, or who do not provide required information within 30 days, will be cancelled and no refund will be issued.

To ensure orders are received quickly, place certificate orders online at  www.vitalchek.com.

Ordering birth certificates

tag

All persons born in Clark County (all years)

All Washington state births registered from 1907 to present

For births outside of Clark County before 1907, please contact the Washington State Center for Health Statistics at 360.236.4300 or toll-free, 800.525.0127.

tag

To purchase a birth certificate, you must:

  • Be a qualified applicant and prove your relationship by submitting proof documentation.
  • Provide identity documentation.
  • Provide required information.
  • Pay the fee. Fees start at $25.
Be a qualified applicant and prove your relationship by submitting proof documentation.

What is a qualified applicant?

  • A qualified applicant is a person who is eligible to receive a certificate.

Who are the qualified applicants for a birth certificate?

  • Qualified applicants for a birth certificate are: Self, Spouse/Domestic Partner, Child, Parent, Stepparent, Stepchild, Sibling, Grandparent, Grandchild, Great Grandparent, Legal Guardian, Legal Representative, Authorized Representative, or Government Agency or the Courts (only for official duties).
Provide identity documentation.

What is proof of eligibility documentation? Proof of eligibility documentation are documents that link you to the requested birth certificate.

  • If you are listed on the record and your identity documentation sufficiently links you to the record (i.e. self or parents), your proof of eligibility requirement is met.
  • If you are not listed on the record or your identity documentation doesn't sufficiently link you to the record, you must provide additional documentation to prove eligibility.
What documents will Clark County Vital Records accept to prove eligibility?

Clark County Vital Records will accept the following documents to prove eligibility:

  • Copies of vital records such as certifications of birth, death, marriage, and divorce from this or another jurisdiction that link you to the requested record
  • Copies of certified court orders from a court of competent jurisdiction linking you to the record (i.e. legal guardian)
  • Document or letter from a government agency or courts stating the certification will be used in.
What identity documentation will Clark County Vital Records accept?

Clark County Vital Records will accept a copy of:

  • One government issued identity document (must contain photo, full name, and date of birth) that is current or expired less than 60 days; or
  • If you do not have a government issued identity document, then at least two alternate documents from the alternate list.
  • The alternate documents must contain matching first and last names and addresses, or in combination contains full name, date of birth, and photograph. the conduct of official duties (for government and court officials only)
Provide required information.

The following information is required as it appears on the birth certificate:

  • First, middle, and last name of the subject of the record
  • First and last name of all parents listed on the record
  • Date of birth (month, date, year)
  • City or county where the birth occurred
Pay the fee. Fees start at $25.
tag
  • Birth certificates are $25.00 each.
  • Order fee is $10.00 each.

Important note: No refunds will be given if a record could not be located or the documentation you provided did not prove you were eligible to receive a birth certificate.

Additional fees and payment information

Purchase in our lobby, while you wait:

  • VitalChek has an additional fee of $3.50 per order.
  • Credit cards are accepted in the lobby. See the credit card section below for additional information.

Orders submitted by mail with payment by check or money order:

  • In addition to the cost of the certificate(s), an additional fee of $10.00 per order applies when an order is submitted by mail and payment is made by check or money order.
  • Checks and money orders should be made payable to: Clark County Vital Records.

Payment by credit card: Credit cards are accepted online, by telephone and in-person in our lobby. A bank card processing fee will be applied to all transactions.

  • $0 - $50 =  $2.00
  • $50.01 - $100 = $2.95
  • Each additional $100 = $2.00

Credit card orders are processed through one of two third-party vendors VitalChek or Point and Pay. Point and Pay is used for lobby purchases only. In addition to the cost of the certificate(s), VitalChek has an additional fee of $11.50 per order.

tag

Our lobby is open for in-person services on the following days and times:

8 am to 4 pm Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday
9 am to 4 pm Wednesday

Appointments recommended noon to 4 pm.

tag

Birth certificate application (English) (Spanish);

Mailing Address

Clark County Vital Records
PO Box 9825
Vancouver, WA 98666-8825

Payment Options
(Under RCW 70.58a all orders are non-refundable)

Fees*:

  • $25.00  Each Certificate
  • $10.00  Per Order Fee

*Shipping charges apply on all orders. See shipping options and fees below.

Shipping Fees:

  • $5.00 U.S. Mail
  • $15.00 UPS 3 day (only deliverable at street address)
  • $40.00 UPS Next Business Day (only deliverable at street address)
tag

Online Orders: www.vitalchek.com

Phone Orders via VitalChek: 1.866.687.1464

Payment Options

(Under RCW 70.58a all orders are non-refundable)

Online and phone orders via VitalChek: Most Credit Cards / Debit Cards

Fees*:

  • $25.00  Each Certificate
  • $11.50  VitalChek Fee
  • $10.00  Per Order Fee
  • Shipping fee, USPS or UPS

*Shipping charges apply on all orders. See shipping options and fees below.

Shipping options and fees

  • $5.00 U.S. Mail
  • $15.00 UPS 3 day (only deliverable at street address)
  • $40.00 UPS Next Business Day (only deliverable at street address)
Please be aware

The Washington State Dept. of Health has received an increased number of calls about third party vendors selling birth, death, marriage and divorce certificates. These companies charge customers high fees to "process" or "help apply" for certificates issued from the Department of Health.  VitalChek, at www.vitalchek.com  is our only contracted vendor. If you have ordered through one of these third party companies and would like to file a consumer complaint, visit the Washington State Attorney General Consumer Protection Division.

For the fastest service, without high fees, we encourage customers to order certified copies only from our office, Clark County Vital Records per instructions on this page, Washington State Dept. of Health, your local Washington state county health department or through our contracted vendor, VitalChek, at www.vitalchek.com

tag

Orders containing all the required information and documentation are printed and shipped within 3 business days.

Shipping for U.S. Mail orders take between 7-14 business days depending on distance and season.

Orders that do not contain all required information and documentation will be held for 30 days.  If the information is not received, Clark County Vital Records will cancel the order and per RCW70.58A, no refund will be given.

Orders placed by applicants not qualified under RCW70.58.A will be canceled and no refund will be issued.

Ordering death certificates

tag

All persons who died in Clark County from 2002 - Present

All Washington State deaths that were filed electronically (starting in 2017)

For any other deaths that occurred in Washington from 1907-2001, visit the Washington State Center for Health Statistics website or call them at 360-236-4300 or toll-free, 800-525-0127.

tag

To purchase a death certificate, you must:

  • Be a qualified applicant and prove your relationship by submitting proof documentation.
  • Provide identity documentation.
  • Provide required information.
  • Pay the fee. Fees start at $25.
Be a qualified applicant and prove your relationship by submitting proof documentation.

What is a qualified applicant?

  • A qualified applicant is a person who is eligible to receive a certificate.

Who are the qualified applicants for a death certificate?

  • Qualified applicants for a death certificate are: spouse/domestic partner, child, parent, step-parent, stepchild, sibling, grandparent, grandchild, great grandparent, legal guardian immediately prior to death, legal representative, authorized representative, next of kin (only if no one else from this list is living), funeral director or funeral establishment that is named on the record (up to 12 months from the date of death), or government agency or the courts (only for official duties).
Provide identity documentation.

What is proof of eligibility documentation? Proof of eligibility documentation are documents that link you to the requested death certificate.

  • If you are listed on the record and your identity documentation sufficiently links you to the record, your proof of eligibility requirement is met.
  • If you are not listed on the record or your identity documentation doesn't sufficiently link you to the record, you must provide additional documentation to prove eligibility.
What documents will Clark County Vital Records accept to prove eligibility?

Clark County Vital Records will accept the following documents to prove eligibility:

  • Copies of vital records such as certifications of birth, death, marriage, and divorce from this or another jurisdiction that link you to the requested record
  • Copies of certified court orders from a court of competent jurisdiction linking you to the record (i.e. legal guardian)
  • Document or letter from a government agency or courts stating the certification will be used in.
What identity documentation will Clark County Vital Records accept?

Clark County Vital Records will accept a copy of:

  • One government issued identity document (must contain photo, full name, and date of birth) that is current or expired less than 60 days; or
  • If you do not have a government issued identity document, then at least two alternate documents from the alternate list.
  • The alternate documents must contain matching first and last names and addresses, or in combination contains full name, date of birth, and photograph. the conduct of official duties (for government and court officials only)
Provide required information.

The following information is required as it appears on the death certificate:

  • First and last name of the decedent.
  • Approximate date of death (month and year).
  • City or county where the death occurred
Pay the fee. Fees start at $25.
tag
  • Death certificates are $25.00 each.
  • Order fee is $10.00 each.

Important note: No refunds will be given if a record could not be located or the documentation you provided did not prove you were eligible to receive a death certificate.

Additional fees and payment information

Purchase in our lobby, while you wait:

  • VitalChek has an additional fee of $3.50 per order.
  • Credit cards are accepted in the lobby. See the credit card section below for additional information.

Orders submitted by mail with payment by check or money order:

  • In addition to the cost of the certificate(s), an additional fee of $10.00 per order applies when an order is submitted by mail and payment is made by check or money order.
  • Checks and money orders should be made payable to: Clark County Vital Records.

Payment by credit card:

  • Credit cards are accepted online, by telephone and in-person in our lobby. A bank card processing fee will be applied to all transactions.
    • $0 - $50 =  $2.00
    • $50.01 - $100 = $2.95
    • Each additional $100 = $2.00

Credit card orders are processed through one of two third-party vendors VitalChek or Point and Pay. Point and Pay is used for lobby purchases only. In addition to the cost of the certificate(s), VitalChek has an additional fee of $11.50 per order.

tag

Our lobby is open for in-person services on the following days and times:

8 am to 4 pm Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday
9 am to 4 pm Wednesday

Appointments recommended noon to 4 pm.

tag

Death certificate application (English) (Spanish)

Print out the form, write in your information, and mail it, along with your payment, to the address provided on the form.

In addition to the cost of the certificate(s), an additional fee of $10.00 per order applies when an order is submitted by mail and payment is made by check or money order.

Checks and money orders should be made payable to: Clark County Vital Records.

You can expect your death certificate order in approximately 2-3 weeks when choosing the mail-in method.

tag

Applies to all orders placed online, by fax, and by telephone. Applies to mail orders when paying by credit card.

Clark County Vital Records accepts credit cards processed through VitalChek Network, Inc., an independent company that we have partnered with to provide you this service. An additional fee is charged by VitalChek for using this service.

What to expect on your credit card bill using VitalChek services:

  • The base fee for birth and death certificates is $25.00 each.
  • A fee of $11.50 is added per order (for any quantity of records in the order) For example: One certificate at $25 + the $11.50 priority handling fee = $36.50 total charged to your credit card. Two certificates at $50 + the $11.50 priority handling fee = $61.50 total charged to your credit card.

Note: the examples above assume standard shipping (with no additional fee for shipping.)

  • Rush delivery is available via United Parcel Service (UPS) for an additional fee of $18.50.
    • UPS rush delivery requires a signature when delivered.
    • UPS will not deliver to PO boxes.

Below is more detailed information about how to place an order online, by telephone, and by mail when paying by credit card.

Online orders

Online orders can be made using VitalChek

Phone orders
  • Call 1-888-273-4623, 24 hours a day 7 days a week.
  • To order over the telephone, a credit card is required.
  • All telephone orders are processed within 15- 20 business days and then sent by regular mail, unless you select rush delivery.
  • Rush delivery is available via UPS for an additional fee of $18.50.
    • UPS rush delivery requires a signature when delivered.
    • UPS will not deliver to PO boxes.

NOTE: Because payment is involved, orders cannot be submitted by email.

Please be aware

The Washington State Dept. of Health has received an increased number of calls about third party vendors selling birth, death, marriage and divorce certificates. These companies charge customers high fees to "process" or "help apply" for certificates issued from the Department of Health.  VitalChek, at www.vitalchek.com  is our only contracted vendor. If you have ordered through one of these third party companies and would like to file a consumer complaint, visit the Washington State Attorney General Consumer Protection Division.

For the fastest service, without high fees, we encourage customers to order certified copies only from our office, Clark County Vital Records per instructions on this page, Washington State Dept. of Health, your local Washington state county health department or through our contracted vendor, VitalChek, at www.vitalchek.com

tag

Use the funeral home ordering portal. Visit our Funeral Home page for additional information.

 

tag

Ordering by mail: Birth or death certificate orders received through the mail take approximately two weeks, this does not include US Post Office delivery times.

If you come in person: Orders requested in person at the Vital Records office normally takes less than twenty minutes unless there are some inconsistencies with your request.

If you order by credit card: Orders requested over the telephone or through the website for regular delivery using a credit card will be processed within 14 business days. Expediated Delivery request are processed the same day or the following business day. When placing these orders there is an additional handling fee of $11.50. Delivery options are regular mail (no additional fee) or UPS overnight $18.50.

Corrections and other questions

tag

Please visit the Washington State Department of Health.  They can only correct certificates for births, deaths, marriages or divorces that took place in Washington State.

You can use the Affidavit for Correction form and required proof for most corrections. The form summarizes how to make a correction.

Download the most recent form:

The form is also printed on the back of every certificate. Print the updated form if the revision date is before 1/15/2015.

tag

Note: January 1, 2019 new Parentage laws and rules are in effect. Learn more and access forms for adding or changing parents on a birth certificate.

tag

An "apostille" is a form of authentication issued to documents for use in countries that participate in the Hague Convention of 1961. If the country of intended use does not participate in the Hague Convention, documents being sent to that country can obtain a Certificate of Authentication. See instructions on how to get an apostille from the Washington Secretary of State.

tag

Birth and death certificates issued are certified copies and are printed on special certified paper with a printed and raised seal along with the registrar's signature.

You may hear of the terms "Birth certificate" and "Birth record". They are the same so follow the same ordering instructions.

Credit card sized copies of birth certificates are no longer available. Not all of the information was provided on them. For this reason, they became invalid documents by federal law in 1989.

tag

For birth certificates prior to 1921 and non-Clark County death certificates but from other Washington State counties, contact the Washington State Center for Health Statistics at 360.236.4300 or toll-free, 800.525.0127. You may also contact the Washington state county health department serving the area where the birth or death occurred.

tag

In the State of Washington, adoption records are sealed but you may consider hiring a "confidential intermediary" to assist you in searching for your birth parents. Please visit the Washington State Department of Health.

tag

If you were born between the years of 1949 to 1967, no times were reported on official birth records in Washington state. You can try checking with the hospital where you were born to see if they have retained original records of your birth which may indicate the time however most private health care facilities typically destroy medical records after 10 years from the last patient's visit as it's costly to continuously archive records that carry a likelihood of not being used again. The time of birth on records restarted in 1968.