Self-help form kits

self-help form kits

The library sells self-help kits with forms and instructions on a variety of topics. Kits can be purchased with cash or credit/debit cards (fee applies). All prices include sales tax. Kits are not available for download due to copyright restrictions.

Purchases are final and there are no refunds. Librarians are not responsible for deciding if a kit is the correct one for your situation. The library strives to keep kits current, but the law can change at any time so the library cannot guarantee that a particular kit is still valid.

Kits purchased through this website are mailed out three times per week. A $10 shipping and handling fee (S/H) is added to the price of each kit. Kits can also be purchased at the library during open hours.

Self-help form kits brochure

Default Judgment in Superior Court - $25 ($15 kit + $10 S/H)

(new 3/2022)
The kit includes forms and instructions to ask for a default judgment in a civil lawsuit in Superior Court. It is intended for cases against one defendant who did not answer or appear, and less than one year has passed since service of the summons and complaint.
See the first pages of the kit.

Garnishment of a Court Judgment - $40 ($30 kit + $10 S/H)

(updated 7/2021)
The kit includes forms and instructions to process a garnishment against an employer or a bank after a money judgment has been awarded. There are some limitations in the statutes on what can be garnished. Washington LawHelp has a self-help packet with information about limitations on garnishment
See the first two pages of the kit.

Gun Rights Restoration - $50 ($40 kit + $10 S/H)

(updated 7/2021 but prior versions are still valid - see Note)
The kit includes forms and instructions to request the restoration of gun rights lost due to Washington State convictions. The Clark County Sheriff's Office has provided additional information about factors that impact eligibility to restore gun rights. 
See the first two pages of the kit.

Note: If you are submitting the Washington State Patrol form by mail, download an updated form from their "mail" option rather than the one in the kit.

Open and Close Probate With a Will (Testate) - $50 ($40 kit + $10 S/H)

(updated 8/2021)
The kit includes forms and instructions to open and close a simple solvent estate in Washington when the person who died had a Will. It does not cover administration of the estate, or situations where an heir is a minor or incapacitated person.
See the first pages of the kit.

Open and Close Probate Without a Will (Intestate) - $50 ($40 kit + $10 S/H)

(updated 8/2021)
The kit includes forms and instructions to open and close a simple solvent estate in Washington when the person who died did not have a Will. It does not cover administration of the estate, or situations where an heir is a minor or incapacitated person.
See the first pages of the kit.

Replevin in Superior Court (Return of Personal Property) - $60 ($50 kit + $10 S/H)

(new 4/2022)
The kit includes forms and instructions to ask for an order requiring a person or business to return a specific piece of your personal property valued at $300 or more (for example, this can be a vehicle or a pet or anything except land or a building). Read an article about the kit from the King County Bar Association's Bar Bulletin. The Clark County Sheriff's Office has a Replevin Intake sheet with information about their requirements.
See the first pages of the kit.

Sealed Name Change for Domestic Violence Survivors - free download

(updated 4/2018, customized for Clark County 1/2022)
The kit is available for download due to the generosity of the King County Law Library. It includes forms for domestic violence survivors to request a sealed name change for themselves or their child. 

Small Estate Affidavit - $25 ($15 kit + $10 S/H)

(updated 3/2022 for technical change, 3/2021 kits are still valid)
The kit includes forms and instructions to transfer personal property of deceased Washington residents without probate for a small estate. It does not apply to estates where the debts have not been paid or provided for, where there is real estate such as a house or land, or to estates worth more than $100,000.
See the first pages of the kit.

Start a Civil Lawsuit in Superior Court - $25 ($15 kit + $10 S/H)

(updated 4/2021 but prior versions are still valid - see Note)
The kit includes forms and instructions to start a civil lawsuit in Superior Court against a person. It does not cover procedures after the initial filing and is not intended for District Court.
See the first pages of the kit.

Note: The updated version makes a number of changes for improved clarity.  It also corrected an error in the statute of limitations chart. Injury to person should be 3 years rather than 2 years under RCW 4.16.080.

Start a Contractor's Bond Claim - $30 ($20 kit + $10 S/H)

(updated 6/2019 but prior versions are still valid)
The kit includes forms and instructions to start a case against a contractor's bond by a homeowner or supplier/subcontractor when the contract was breached or performance was negligent. It does not cover procedures after the initial filing, and is not intended for electrical contractors.
See the first two pages of the kit.

Transfer on Death Deed - $40 ($30 kit + $10 S/H)

(updated 3/2022, but prior versions are still valid - see Note)
The kit includes forms and instructions to create, record, revoke, or claim under the deed.
See the first pages of the kit.

Note: The Real Estate Excise Tax Affidavit and accompanying instructions have been updated. If using an earlier version of this kit, download the new version of the form and instructions.