Mortgage lending


No one may take any of the following actions based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, handicap, marital status, age, use of a service animal by a person with a disability, honorably discharged veteran or military status, or sexual orientation/gender identity:

  • Refuse to make a mortgage loan
  • Refuse to provide information regarding loans
  • Impose different terms or conditions on a loan, such as different interest rates, points, or fees
  • Discriminate in appraising property
  • Refuse to purchase a loan
  • Refuse to negotiate for housing
  • Make housing unavailable
  • Deny a dwelling
  • Set different terms, conditions, or privileges for the sale of a dwelling
  • Provide different housing services or facilities
  • Falsely deny that housing is available for inspection or sale
  • Persuade owners to sell (blockbusting)
  • Deny access to or membership in a facility or service (such as a multiple listing service) related to the sale of housing
  • Advertise or make any statement that indicates a limitation or preference based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, or handicap. This prohibition against discriminatory advertising applies to single-family and owner-occupied housing that is otherwise exempt from the Fair Housing Act. For more information, view the real estate advertising guidance provided by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Have you experienced fair housing discrimination? Click here to learn how to file a complaint.

For more information, contact Rebecca Royce, 564.397.7863.