CAAB: Community Action Advisory Board

About the CAAB Board

The Community Action Advisory Board (CAAB) is comprised of at least twelve members representing a cross section of the community. Board membership includes low-income residents, elected officials, and the general community.

Board Responsibilities: The advisory board conducts a triennial needs assessment to inform funding recommendations addressing essential human needs and promoting self-sufficiency through services provided by community-based organizations.

Meetings: The CAAB currently meets at 9am on the first Wednesday of odd-numbered months at the Center for Community Health, Room C210B, 1601 E Fourth Plain Boulevard, Vancouver, and other times as needed. See sidebar for attending meeting virtually.

Composition: The CAAB is a tripartite board including elected officials as described in Section 675(c)(3), "To require each state to certify as a part of its annual application that: (A) in the case of community action agency (CAA) or nonprofit private organization, each board will be selected by the CAA or nonprofit private organization; (B) in the case of public organization receiving funds, such organization either establish (1) a board which at least one-third of the members or persons chosen in accordance with democratic selection procedures adequate to assure that they are representatives of the poor in the area served; or (2) another mechanism specified by the state to assure low-income citizen participation in the planning, administration and evaluation of projects for which such organization has been funded."

For additional information about the Community Action Advisory Board, contact Rebecca Royce at 564.397.7863.

Meeting Information

The Board meets at 9 am on the first Wednesday of odd-numbered months at the Center for Community Health, 1601 E. Fourth Plain Blvd., Bldg. 17, Room C210B, Vancouver. 

**Beginning June 1, 2022, meetings are available in hybrid. To join virtually, use the following link or phone number:

Phone: 408.418.9388
Access Code 2482 467 9342

MASKS REQUIRED in the building

The Advisory Task Force subcommittee informs the Board of legislation and efforts that might impact people of lower income in Clark County. Meetings will be rescheduled after Covid-19 restrictions are lifted.

CAAB Members

District Name Representing Term Expires
1 Kim Harless, Vancouver Councilor Elected officials 12/31/2022
1 Amy Roark, Vice Chair Community 12/31/2022
1 Jamie Spinelli Low-income 12/31/2023
2 Alishia Topper, Treasurer, Board Chair Elected officials 12/31/2023
2 Bridget McLeman, Board Secretary Community 12/31/2024
2 Karyn Kameroff Low-income 12/31/2024
3 Rob Perkins, Evergreen School Board Member Elected officials 12/31/2023
3 Melanie Green Community 12/31/2022
3 Vacant Low-income 12/31/2023
4 Vacant Elected officials 12/31/2022
4 Lance Carter Community 12/31/2023
4 Megan Mulsoff Low-income 12/31/2022
Member at Large David Poland Deaf Community 12/31/2024

CAAB Meeting Documents

Previous board meeting documents and recordings are accessed using the year selection arrow below.

Date Agenda/Minutes Notes/Related Documents Audio/Video