Solid Waste Advisory Commission

SWAC Meetings Have Gone Virtual

The next SWAC meeting is scheduled for Thursday, August 4th, 2022, from 6:00 - 8:00 pm.
Click the link below to join the meeting at that time.

  • (link coming soon)

The Clark County Solid Waste Advisory Commission is a ten-member panel appointed by the Clark County Council that represents a broad spectrum of the community.

The commission meets at 6 pm on the first Thursday of February, May, August and November at the Center for Community Health, 1601 E Fourth Plain Blvd, Vancouver, WA 98661, Room 210AB.

The commission advises the Clark County Council on solid waste matters including:

  • Helping develop programs and policies concerning solid waste handling and disposal and reviewing and commenting on proposed rules, policies or ordinances prior to adoption
  • Participating in current solid waste planning and development of future solid waste management plans
  • Investigating new developments in solid waste management practices and recommending further investigation or adoption of the practices, which will improve local solid waste management
  • Recommending to the Board of County Councilors and Clark County Public Health appropriate and necessary solutions to solid waste problems as may be presented by local citizens, private industry or others.
  • Advising  Clark County Public Health in evaluating applications for permits for solid waste handling facilities and disposal sites
  • Advising the county council or county staff in other specific solid waste matters, such as designing or siting solid waste facilities as directed by the board on a project-by-project basis
  • Maintaining communication with the citizens represented by each member to further public information and citizen input
  • Encouraging, supporting and promoting the reduction, recovery and reuse of resources contained in solid waste

To contact the Solid Waste Advisory Commission or be added to the distribution list to receive meeting reminders and updates, please email

Current members

Name Representing Term Began Term Expires
Kyle Potter, Chair Southwest Clark County July 2019 June 30, 2025
Tim Kraft, Vice Chair Southeast Clark County Oct. 2018 Sept. 30, 2024
Allan Jeska Public Interest Groups Sept. 2011 Dec. 31, 2022
Simone Auger Small Cities & Towns Dec. 2014 Mar. 31, 2024
Derek Ranta Solid Waste Management Industry Mar. 2018 Mar. 31, 2024
Jason Presser Clark County Business Oct. 2018 Sept. 30, 2024
Joe Zimmerman Agriculture Feb. 2020 Dec. 31, 2022
Kim Harless City of Vancouver Jan. 2022 Dec. 31, 2022
Mike Mulligan Clark County At-Large Mar. 2022 Sept. 30, 2024
Reuben Greer North Clark County May 2022 May 31, 2025


Date Agenda/Minutes Notes/Related Documents Audio/Video